Hello! So today I figured I’d take the time to make a list of book recommendations. I don’t know how many times I’ll do this, but I do know that they’ll probably be around the end of each month and include ten books or series each.

10. The Lunar Chronicles Series by Marissa Meyer

5bc78f494bcf1a0e43f0c23c637932ec

So, I know I include these books in pretty much every book post I ever make, but I just love them so much! They’re well written, all the important characters are humanized, and all of these people interact in such a way typical of teenagers and it’s impossible to hate any of the main nine (Cinder, Kai, Scarlet, Wolf, Cress, Carswell, Winter, Jacin, and Iko), and these are honestly my favorite book series of all time.

9. And the Hippos Were Boiled in their Tanks by Jack Kerouac and William S. Burroughs

175px-AndTheHipposWereBolied

I know this book has a weird title, but it’s written by two of the great authors from the Beat generation. The book is the inspiration for the movie Kill Your Darlings, and is based on the real story of the killing of David Kammerer. It’s genre is mystery, but it is slightly dark, so I wouldn’t suggest reading it if you couldn’t handle mentions of suicide or the like.

8. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

220px-Aristotle_and_Dante_Discover_the_Secrets_of_the_Universe_cover

I know this is another book that I’ve mentioned before, but it’s absolutely lovely! The characters, the setting, the love… I look back on this book with the rosiest tinted glasses you will ever see! It’s extremely beautiful, and Dante and Aristotle are truly amazing characters. Everyone will LOVE this book. There apparently is a sequel on the way, called ‘There Will be Other Summers,’ and I’m super excited.

7. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

71LkLmxqgjL

Eleanor and Park is super cute! It’s a really nice romance book with two cute characters, but the families surrounding one of them is toxic and scary, I wouldn’t recommend if you can’t handle creepy adults.

6. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

trilogy.jpg

I consider The Infernal Devices to be flawless. Tessa is a well written character, Will and James are hilarious and amazing, and I relate to Jessamine and her parasail on a spiritual level. The romances in this series are truly adorable, and you’ll finish the series either crying or crying more.

5. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

19063

Is this the saddest book ever? Quite possibly. I loved this book all the way to the last word, even though it left m with the uncontrollable urge to die. Liesel’s journey through Nazi occupied Germany, told by Death, is the most creative form of storytelling I have ever seen and this book is one everyone should read.

4. The Beau Rivage Series

50dfd-beau2brivage2bseries

I’ve only read Kill Me Softly and Tear You Apart, but I know if I had read Twin Roses I would have loved it. This is another retelling, with Kill Me Softly is based on the Story of Bluebeard and Tear You Apart is based on Snow White in the Hunstman. The stories are both wonderful, and intertwined. Protagonists Mira and Viv know each other in each story, and are friends. I would recommend this to any one who loves fairytales like I do!

3. Dorothy Must Die series by Danielle Paige

e2809csomewhere-in-the-back-of-my-mind-i-had-the-vaguest-notion-that-i-was-the-one-being-wicked-but-i-found-that-i-didn_t-care-in-fact-i-almost-enjoyed-it-e2809d1.png

Dorothy Must Die is another retelling (of course), but it is a good one. I did a review on the first book a few days back, and it is a good series. The books on the bottom are short stories, which I have not read yet, but I have read all three on the top, which are the main books. These are enjoyable books, I would just suggest you prepare for MAJOR cliffhangers.

2. Invisible Man by Ralph Emerson

51LU-4hu+IL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Inivisible Man is a book you may have to read in school, but it is an important one that I think everyone should read. The book is kind of old, so the language may be harder to understand but it really is an important book on an important topic and worth the while.

1. Looking for Alaska by John Green

Looking_for_Alaska_original_cover

And last, but not least, is Looking for Alaska by John Green. This book, for me, really represents how you never truly know how someone feels. The book, as good as it is, is very, very dark, and I truly would not suggest it if you can’t handle it.

So these are my book recommendations for April. Definitely leave me a comment if you read a book based on this post. I hope yo enjoyed!

love,

Alexis

One thought on “book reccomendations ▽ one: april 2016

Leave a Reply

