a court of mist and fury by sarah j. maas

basic information:

★ pages: 640

★ genre: young adult, fantasy, romance, adventure

★ release date: may 3, 2016

★ rating: 4/5 stars

★ links: goodreads // amazon

★ series:

book one: a court of thorns and roses

book three: untitled (expected arrival: 2017)

★ synopsis:

 

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people. Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two. With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

review:

plot: 4/5

I really liked the story line of this book. Most times, with a heroine, we forget the psychological pain they may have experienced, and this book never lets it fall to far out of your thoughts. You must remember that Feyre, strong as she is, is broken, and experiences pain just like any of us. But her pain is not the only aspect of this story, and I feel like the synopsis of the book doesn’t do the rest justice. The King of Hybern is currently trying to start war, and Feyre and her friends are trying to stop it. It’s a very interesting dynamic, to accompany the thread of Rhysand and Feyre’s budding friendship.

characters: 4.5/5

Rhysand, my son. I loved him in A Court of Thorns and Roses, but now I love him even more! How is that possible? And jeez, I promise you, you will leave this book upset with someone characters and loving others even more! My favorites were Rhysand, Amren, and Cassian, but of course, Rhysand is my all time favorite (I don’t know if you can tell, but I have a thing for characters with black hair and internal conflicts), and he’s just so cute, honestly.

writing style: 3.5/5

I didn’t like the writing style as much as I could, I felt like the writing itself was an attempt at fancy, with casual words spread about. I just feel like either it should be regal writing, or casual, not both.

overall: 4/5

final thoughts:

I liked this book, all the way up until the end, when I LOVED it. Please check it out, even if just for the ending (which I’m telling you, is super awesome).The book is a smooth ride, easy to read, and all around wonderful. Please give it a look, but make sure you read A Court of Thorns and Roses first!

love,

alexis

One thought on “book review ▽ a court of mist and fury by sarah j. maas

Leave a Reply

